Race Results and Handicaps

BBBC uses a progressive handicap system; World Sailing Empirical Handicap Scheme for Yachts

The life blood of empirical handicap racing is the adjustment of handicaps after racing. Without this race results and the scheme will soon become meaningless. This system allows boat of varying designs to race against each other and after racing determine, by calculation, the race results by excluding the performance differences of the boats themselves. Ideally the band of corrected times should continue to narrow as handicaps are adjust.

Current Trophy Holders - 2021

  • Tui Westrupp - The Hartley Cup - for Perseverance & Consistent Performance - 9 races in many different boats Sunburst – Zeddie – Noelex, and a few DNF ‘s

  • Alan Joss - C A Hart Trophy - Most Line Honours - 6!!

  • Pieter Besuijen - T J Hart Trophy - Best over all. 5 Handicap wins, 3 line hours, most races entered 11

  • Simon Blake - Challenge Cup - Most Improved newcomer/Challenge Race most improved handicap. 2 handicap wins. 2 line hours. 7 Races entered

  • Anette Seifert - Potter Prize - Consistent Crewing & helming

  • Jack Campbell - Stanley H. A. Beck Junior Cup - Always sailing and always competing (even in the senior fleet) – awarded 6rd year in a row